Hitting a Road Block

Puerto Rico is probably in contention for containing the most scenic waterfalls in the world.  The list goes on and on about where all the hidden gems are around the island and this includes finding the best waterfalls that offer something for everyone.  Lately, I’ve been trying to find some low key waterfalls and hikes that the typical expat simply doesn’t know of or hasn’t yet been to.  I can confidently say I’ve been somewhat successful in finding them and capturing some great shots.

With that being said, I tried to find Charca Las Vegas Waterfalls in Maricao.  The trail for leading to the waterfalls was in essence, nonexistent.  I had to climb a fence that was chained off and that ended up leading me to a suspension bridge that you see in a movie.  I attempted crossing the bridge but the bridge was unstable as it was shaking side to side and was slippery.  I considered just walking through the river and just seeing where it would lead me, until I contemplated it further and decided it wasn’t worth it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 12.55.54 AM

Leave a Reply

